Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is widely argued that reading books is far more beneficial than other forms of entertainment such as watching TV or playing computer games. I personally agree with the above statement because books give children a great sense of imagination and improve a wide range of knowledge, whereas the later forms tend to gradually deteriorate their health. This essay will first give plausible explanations as well as demonstrate some relevant examples.

There is no room for doubt that books play an important role in the learning process of the young generation, especially in the cyber era. First of all, books, which are written in words, probably boost one’s imagination during reading. Taking Harry Porter as a prime example, which is one of the best-selling novels are globally well-known among children, greatly stimulate youngsters to visualize the stories with their own fantasy. Additionally, reading books is commonly seen as a handy tool to broaden one’s horizons. The book of “110 elements”, for instance, involving great stories of famous scientists like Marie Curry, Thomas Edison or Markovnikov, and thus, not only provides children with backgrounds of each element, but also is a great source of practical experiments related to science.

On the other hand, in terms of watching TV or playing computer games, these kinds of recreation hugely put the young generation into grave danger of health deterioration. The youth, who have a strong tendency to be addicted to these types of entertainment due to their fantastic designs, are leading to a sedentary lifestyle, therefore, they usually suffer from bodily discomforts such as severe headaches or intense back pains. Moreover, a research carried out by Oxford University has recently been revealed that a vast majority of children who highly expose to radiation of computer screens are greatly prone to short-sightedness and have to wear glasses at an early age.

In conclusion, reading books has many positive impacts on a child’s learning progress compared to the disadvantages of technological devices like TV or computers bring for.