Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In today's world, due to convenient means of transport, any item could reach easily far distances from its origin. In this essay, I will talk about why importing food is important and its positive and negative outcomes.

There are a certain number of reasons to import and trade food from one country to another country. The first prominent reason is the lack of food in some regions, for example, In India, apple grows in mountains which is not available in countries in Saudi Arabia, Dubai, and UAE. And, we need to eat every healthy food product even it is fruit to keep a good appetite and diet. Thus, apples are imported through shipping to the middle-east countries in the form of international trading. Moreover, food trading is also helpful to outweigh the hunger in poor countries by making donations to unfortunate people who cannot grow vegetables and fruits in their areas.

Furthermore, importing food is useful as people can visit other parts of the world and they will deal with the different cultures, traditions, and learn new languages. To exemplify, my uncle is a farmer and he grows rice in our agricultural land, and he has to visit middle-east regions to export rice, due to this, he started speaking the Urdu language fluently and learned a lot about Muslim culture and foods. Therefore, I believe that it is a positive sign for building relationships with other countries by making international trades whether it is a food item.

Conversely, food transportation has drawbacks yet has many benefits. To begin with, high cost of transferring food from to far countries. For example, rice and flour are exported to Canada from India which makes the item more than twice costly as its original price. Secondly, Storage of food for a long period such as raw chicken, meat, and other food items like noodles are preserved and stored in refrigerators. The longer storage of food items makes a low quality of nutrients and unhealthy for individuals to consume. Lastly, encouraging local citizens to eat imported food rather than local food which will affect the economy of the country as people will demand more on the imported food and local farmers will not be able to survive easily in their regions.

To conclude, although importing food is necessary and important for all people around the world, I think that national leaders and farmers must innovate new ways to transfer food into poorer countries to decline the rate of hunger as well as should promote the importance of local food which is one of the freshly available eatable healthy product.