Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an opinion that contemporary school's programs require a subject on financial literacy. I totally agree with this notion because the youth and even a lot of adults, nowadays, tend to spend more money than they can afford.

First, with the appearance of the Internet modern schoolchildren have got many opportunities to earn extra money and it is obvious that they need not blow them off but rather use the received profit for building their future financial stability or even independence. Thus, if learning institutions provide them with sufficient knowledge of economics and budget maintaining, they will be able to save and gain their finances in the future. For example, my younger brother was working in a car wash last summer, but, unfortunately, he had thrown away all his salary on parties and fun later in the year instead of investing it.

In addition, a large number of people take a lot of loans, when payments on them are in excess of their income. This is exactly why schools have to provide the youngsters from an early beginning with knowledge of how to maintain a person's budget and stay out of debt. Children ought to be aware of how to do it properly as financial survival is a crucial skill for a prosperous life. For instance, one of my friends after receiving a good bunch of money from his grandfather invested in them, while his peers went on vacation to Ibiza. Later it paid off and he was able to pay for his further education in a university without taking an educational loan.

In conclusion, I completely agree that schools should be responsible for the financial literacy of their students. This is because planning budget is an essential skill for survival in modern society and children have to learn this skill from primary school until graduation.