Tourism has caused environmental problems in many parts of the world. What sort of problems has been caused and what can be done about them?

Nowadays, every country on the earth is facing ecosystem related issues due to the exponential increase of travellers. This essay will discuss deforestion and pollution are the significant environment problems due to this trend and also suggest some viable solutions, such as strict action against illict infrastructure and improvement of public transport network.

Without question, the upsurge of visitors has aggravated various ecosystem concerns, but the most significant issues are the depletion of the forest land and rising air pollution levels. Tourism provides an opportunity for employment and business growth, especially in the hospitality sector. The illegal construction of hotels and restaurants are common in tourist destinations, thereby causing the eradication of forest land for the development of infrastructure. Consequently, this cutting down of plants and trees causes deforestation, which is one of the biggest challenges our ecological system is facing today. Moreover, the rise of air pollution levels has posed a threat to the environment in such places. Unarguably, the air quality has badly affected because of the excessive usage of private vehicles, which are causing increased emission of carbon dioxide gases, for taking visitors to these places. For instance, a survey conducted by the Himachal University reveals that the air quality index has reached its lowest point, due to the growth of tourism.

Admittedly, the above-referenced challenges exist; however, these issues can be resolved after adopting the following practical measures, namely taking action against illegal structures and better public transportation. To commence with, the government must issue an advisory to the unauthorized buildings and take stringent action against miscreants. The preservation of forest land is impossible until the government is not taking strict actions. Additionally, the betterment of the public transportation system is an effective solution to curb the menace of air pollution because it will reduce the role of private vehicles for commuting, which are responsible for causing air pollution to a large extent. For example, as per the reports published by the Transport Ministry of Himachal, the air quality of Himachal Pradesh has significantly improved after strengthening the state public transportation system.

In conclusion, every part of the world is affected by the various ecological problems due to the upsurge of tourists. The primary problems are deforestation and rising pollution levels, but these issues can be tackled by taking strict actions against illegitimate constructions and improving public transit networks.