Tourism is a modern form of colonialism It distorts local economies causes environmental damage and ruins the places it exploits To what extent would you support or reject this idea

In past, tourism was not so much popular in the environment-friendly areas. In recent years, however, the concept of tourism has changed drastically. Many nations are facing environmental issues due to an increase in the trend of tourism. In this essay, I will discuss my partial agreement with the notion that the economy of several countries is lagging far behind because of tourism whereas it generates the revenue income for the government as well.

On the one side, there are numerous reasons why tourism is important for any nation. Firstly, it provides the job opportunities to the low or middle-class people. In other words, when the tourists visit a local area, then they most of the time, show their interest in the handicrafts which directly increases the small-scale business. As a result, flow of foreign currency is increasing, resulting in the strong economy. Secondly, it generates handsome revenue income for the government. Moreover, the government is earning by imposing heavy excise duty on the local products.

On the other side, it goes without saying that no rose without thrones. We are creating several problems to our Mother Nature by advancing the tourism. For instance, we are cutting the trees to build hotels at the tourist spots which is causing environmental damage. A recent survey conducted by IIT Delhi reveals that most of the tourist places are running out of natural resources because of overuse.

In conclusion, tourism has its own paramount importance in the growth of any country. However, it is the responsibility of the government that they should spend a big amount of money on the tourist sites to improve the infrastructure and maintain the identity of their country otherwise it will get lost in the oblivion.