Agree or Disagree? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

It is highly debated whether it is important to know about events happening around the world. Nowadays, technology enables us to acquire news from all around the world. Some people value the news and believe that knowing what happen to others is important while the others hold an opposite opinion. Since the world is connected through environment and trading, I believe that knowing the events around the world is critical. That is, what seems to unlikely affect your daily life may cast a huge influence indirectly without you even notice.

To begin with, global environmental effect such as global warming will directly affect all residents on earth even at the place having no pollution and excessive carbon dioxide; hence it is important to know the events that might lead to a more serious condition. A famous phenomenon called butterfly phenomenon best illustrates this kind of event - a butterfly flaps its wings somewhere may cause a dramatic storm elsewhere. For example, when developing countries like China and India busy operating factories and emitting greenhouse gases, it may not harm the daily life in the United States. However, when the gases increase, the global warming effect deteriorates. All residents including American will be suffering from the extreme weather. If people from other places know what is going on in developing countries, they can put some stress on them together to lower the emission level.

In addition, many countries are connected by trading so that a crisis happening at one place may cause economic changes in the global market. Since the world has become highly specialized, most countries rely on trading with one another. For example, even if you are living in the United States, the coffee beans you buy may be produced from Mexico. Therefore, if one day Mexico does not have good harvest on coffee, the supply of coffee beans will decrease. Consequently, the price of Mexican coffee beans distributed in American supermarket will inevitably increase. It might not directly make a huge impact on your daily life when you see poor harvest news from TV but if you know that is happening, perhaps you can stock more coffee beans before the price goes up and save yourself a lot of money.

To sum up, the earth is described as a global village where environment and economy link the countries together. Therefore, events such as poor harvest and greenhouse gas emission happen at one corner on the earth may seem to bring no harm to your daily life but will in fact have huge impacts on the whole world. Accordingly, knowing what is happening around the world is important to understand the circumstances.