Agree or disagree?The most important characteristic of a successful leader or politician is the ability to communicate well.

Is the ability to communicate the most important trait for a politician or a leader? This is the most basic and most often-asked question about leadership. To cut to the chase, my answer is “Definitely no”.

Admittedly, a group of people contends that a leader with good communication skills can easily win people over because whatever information you are trying to tell them will get across without being misunderstood. Sure, making yourself clear is one of the most important skills you should have. But, is it the most important one?

In my opinion, there are other characteristics that play a more vital role in becoming a good politician or leader like decision-making ability and hard working.

First off, the ability to make decisions enables one to be distinguished from a leader to a follower. To be a extraordinary leader or politician, you have to make some crucial decisions under certain circumstances in order to make sure your company or your team grows in the right direction. Steve Jobs is a good case in point. Being a leader with a strong decision-making capability, Steve Jobs determine to use the special smartphone system called “IOS”,which is a system can highly protect customer’s privacy. It is a very fresh idea ,but it is this very important decision that helped Apple company experience a huge change from failure to success. You can easily see that most of people around you use iPhone nowadays.

What’s more, working hard is another core factor in determining a good leader or politician.It definitely nurtures hard working among employees and helps foster morale. If the leader can serve as a better example by working hard at everyday work, chances are that their employees will unconsciously follow suit. As a result, a company will survive and thrive. The richest man in China- Wang Jianlin, as known to all, gets up early as most commuters to start his work and never get home before 9:00 P.M. On the top of his career, he used to work constantly for three days. It’s not hard to find that staff work in his company are always busy with various tasks, projects and errands. Because in his company, hard working exhibited by their leader is encouraged and this ability is needed to stand a better chance to achieve success.

Needless to say, with all the dimensions mentioned above incorporated,I strongly vote for the idea that working hard and decision-making ability are what matters in most leaders and politicians than good communication skills.