Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Imagine if you can choose to live in the present or decades or even hundreds of years ago, which one would be your choice. Some people hold the view that living in the past is happier compared with living in the fast changing world which we are experiencing now. But personally speaking, I disagree with such notion and I will elaborate my reasons in this essay.

First of all, it is apparent that health is among the desirable things that define happiness, and the development of technology that we are enjoying today brings us a healthier life. Today, with a press of a button on the air conditioning controller, cold and fresh air will appear and protect us from the horrible heat from outside. And also, the clean water is ready for drinking whenever we feel thirsty at home. And if someone with heart attack suddenly need emergency treatment, we can simply call the ambulance to take him to the hospital. All of the things above that we are familiar with today ever since our childhood were beyond imagination for people from the past. What's more, health is not their top concern since they are struggling with enough food to survive, and the disease today we regard as no big deal could cause death. So obviously we are living in a healthier environment made possible by today's world.

Secondly, people today have a much wider range of stuff to choose for their entertainment compared with people in the past. With the changes of the transportation, people now can travel to further places in less time during vacation, which explains why you can see people from all over the world in Europe and New York. While people in the past may only go hiking in the mountains near their villages instead of visiting the other side of the earth. Also, TV provides people with various kinds of programs that you can eventually find your favorite. If a sport fan loves watching soccer, he can tune into the certain program that broadcasting the match live. And if a student is curious about the space and the aliens, there are lots of documentaries of such kind on TV too. On the other hand, the people in the past did't have those inventions to enjoy. Not to mention that they had to struggling to feed their families.

In a nutshell, because people are living a healthier life with more ways of entertainment, which made possible by the quick changes of the world, it is wrong to say that people are less happy.