A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online material that each teacher will study individually.

In contemporary society, where rarely does a country underestimate the importance of education, it comes as no surprise that elevating the competence of teachers in high school have always been amongst governments' top priorities. A simple recognition of this argument leads our discussion to the controversial question of how to enrich the teacher's knowledge. Some adhere to the brief that only preeminent teachers should be taught by the expert and then impart their information to others and an alternative strategy competing with it is that all tutors expand their knowledge individually by online material. I am inclined to concur with the first idea, and in the ensuing paragraph the rationale behind the statement will be further elaborated.

The foremost factor tipping the competitive advantage away from the latter toward the former is the efficiency. As is often the case, studying on the Internet makes it more possible for people to be distracted by many temptations, such as emailing friends, playing computer games and even shopping. On the contrary, the instructors learning involved in the face-to-face training are more than likely to be preoccupied with the lecture from the more sophisticated person. In addition, since the question is the constant companion of acquiring knowledge, we probably encounter some conundrums which cannot be resolved by ourselves, even though we have racked our brains. But provided that there is a guide who can lead us through those mazes, it will not only broaden our knowledge but also lift my spirt immensely, which undoubtedly dramatically improves our learning efficiency as well.

Another significant reason which deserves attention is the effectiveness. One of the crippling disadvantages suffered from by the later plan is the glaring deficiency of supervision. The supervision is destined to be an insuperable hurdle in the online learning on account of the fact that the slothful learners can let the computer play the course videos in the absence of themselves. What's worse, those excellent teachers may have no choice but to resort to the method due to the tight schedule, which will undeniably impair the effectiveness.

With all the above factors taken into consideration, we can logically reach a conclusion that it is more advisable to select the representatives to receive the professional cultivation.