The college years are the best time in a person’s life. Agree or disagree?

What's the prime time in your life? Ask ten people and you will probably receive ten distinct answers. To name but a few, childhood, teenage years, college years or even retirement. In my opinion, however, college years are definitely worth the title of "prime time".

Perhaps the most crucial role college years play in our lives is to help us set a determined goal of the future. It is misfortunate but true that most teenagers enter college without a real purpose in their mind. However, entering the university does not indicate the achievement of the ultimate goal. It is in the college years that students learn to develop their true interests, talents, and hopefully set a goal for their career path. Take myself for example. Like many teenagers, I have nothing particular in mind upon entering. Through taking various general courses, I decided to declare architecture as my major, because I gained deeper perspective of my weaks and strongs, which lay the foundation of judging a possible career.

Apart from the tremendous influence on career choosing, college has huge impacts on a student's interpersonal relationships. Compared with the real society, college resembles more of a "controlled environment", where students face less threats and obstacles from interpersonal relationships. The college years, in turn, act as a critical transitional period between the two stages. In college, we learn to communicate with people from different regions and social classes. We learn to tolerate others' religious beliefs, living habits and different races. Cases like these are rare in high schools, most of which admit students on a regional basis.

Besides daily communication with students and professors on campus, college internships also teach the students a lot. The most obvious advantage is to gain practical knowledge in a real case, which helps the students determine whether the goals they set earlier suit them or not. If so, the students learn to cope with the possible challenges laying ahead in their future career. And if not, they can make appropriate adjustments accordingly. Another significant advantage to internship is learning to cooperate with others, which essentially has nothing to do with career choice, but a desired quality of a good employee in any given field, where the students learn to work together with supervisors and peers.

To determine the future career path, to develop interpersonal skills and to acquire the fundamental quality of a good employer are the three reasons for my holding that the college years are the best time in a person's life.