Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In civilized and industrialized societies, having a happy life plays a pivotal role in human beings' lives. Today, it is axiomatic that people usually elapse the longer part of their life working, so they have less time to be happy. A plethora of people possess the conviction that nowadays people are less satisfied with their lives, whereas others might hold exactly the opposite view. I firmly endorse the former conviction instead of the later one. In what follows, I am going to aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my view point.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that today, because of rising inflation and poor economic conditions, most of people spend their much time for working to make a living. Therefore, in this situation, they have a lot of stress and anxiety about it. In other words, the more financial circumstances worsen, the more individuals in society are angry. So, the amount of happy people in the community is declining. In my own experience, my family tries to keep pace with runaway inflation due to poor economic condition in my society. In fact, they are under financial pressure and this issue has reduced the quality of our lives. Hence, my family is less happy compared to last year.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that most of people want to have a luxurious life in the modern era. In essence, the expectation of people to have a luxurious life has increased compared to the past. Therefore, they are constantly comparing their lives to those of others. It is no secret that nowadays, with the rise of a number of educated people in the societies, competition to find a decent job has increased so that they can gain a luxurious life by having a decent vocation. This fact is another main reason why people now are less satisfied with their lives. For example, according to a survey conducted in eight industrialized countries, known as G8, back in 2013, revealed that 65 percent of people of these countries were upset and anxious, because they were more involved in competing with others to get more money.

To put it in briefly, all the enumerated reasons lead us to the conviction that today people are less happy with their lives than people who have lived in the past. However, a paramount issue that must be mentioned is that this cannot be used as a prescription for everybody and some counterexamples might exist, which are not mentioned above. As a result, I suggest conducting more surveys and studies to answer this question more precisely.