Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be given money in order to be encouraged in their activities.

By and large, it is established beyond any doubt that financial incentives, the most prominent of which is cash rewards, are a popular option in order to motivate people. However, whether they should be used to motivate children as well, given their sensitive nature, has been a subject of debate by academicians and regular folk alike. A rather popular opinion over the issue is that money can indeed be used to encourage children, and I similarly concur with it. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated in the following lines.

First, children will be familiarized with the value of money. It goes without saying that money is a crucial aspect of one's life, and learning how to manage it is obligatory in order to ensure future wellbeing. When children are given certain sums of money in compensation for their actions, they initially learn its value – as it is the reward of their efforts – and then they eventually realize how to manage it. For instance, take a child trying to buy a particular toy, say an RC car. He will try to save up his money in order to be able to afford it. This can establish the habit of saving money, which can later on help him to buy a real car in their twenties, and perhaps even a house in their thirties or forties.

Another reason coming to mind is that when children are given money, as it is a powerful incentive granting them the ability to buy a variety of desirable items, they will be reinforced to repeat the good deed again in order to receive additional sums. This may seem a bit greedy at first, but many psychologists in the field of behaviorism assert that such positive reinforcement – giving a person a powerful reward to motivate them to repeat an action – can actually result in them making a habit of that particular action. As Dr. Skinner, a famed psychologist dubbed "the father of behaviorism" once said, people make connections between their actions and the feeling they get afterwards when they receive a reward, and thus rarely will they cease to do that action in future even in the absence of the reward. So, money can be a powerful motivator and can imprint positive actions on their mind.

The final point which deserves some words here is that rewarding children with money can be quite beneficial from a psychological standpoint. Children wish to imitate parents; this can be seen when a boy tries to wear his father's shoes or a girl trying to put on make-up. One aspect of the grown-ups, which they are bereft of, is the ability to make and spend money. When a child is given the same option, to a lesser extent of course, they feel like an adult. This has the potential to boost their self-confidence and self-respect exponentially. Take, for instance, a ten year old boy who is paid to take out the garbage. Having done his job well, he is given a sum of money by his mother in remuneration. As a result, he can buy anything he wants with it, from a candy bar or a bag of chips to a toy gun, and this is the result of his own worthy behavior.

In conclusion, paying children for their activities can be a good decision as it can teach them basic financial management, form their personality to some extent and leave a positive psychological effect on their fledgling minds. Thus, it is suggested that all parents consider it as an invaluable option in the upbringing of their beloved children.