Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that governments are constantly seeking ways to enhance the quality of life in their countries. However, to achieve this, they face various challenges, especially regarding budget allocation; for example, it is questionable whether they should expend more funds on athletics events or arts. As far as I am concerned, funding sports events is more beneficial than the arts. In what follows, the reasons supporting my viewpoint will be elaborated.

The first and foremost reason is that significant collective health benefits are indirectly obtained by holding sports events. The reason is that watching sports events motivates citizens to participate in sports activities. In other words, it acts as a motivator for people, leading to physical and mental health for the public. It is apparent that it is the governments' responsibility to improve their citizen's well-being; therefore, providing the Olympic games for example with money can bring about constructive consequences for societies. Take my brother's experience in this regard. Ten years ago, having seen football games and popular teams’ performance, he inspired to register in a football club. He has diligently been tried since then, and now he is one of the great football players in my hometown. My brother is one example of many individuals who have been stimulated to become an athlete thanks to special attention to the sport by the government.

Furthermore, since athletics events are a great source of delight to the majority of people, it can bring happiness for a wide range of people. Not only do a considerable number of individuals follow athletics games, but also watching them constitutes a significant part of their life. As you can see, football teams all around the globe have a great number of fans, supporting them all the time. On the other hand, the most important art events are held in the world while a huge number of people even do not become aware of that. The media coverage confirms my point. Athletics news is covered daily in the news, whereas hardly can we see anything about arts events. This demonstrates that governments should put more money to support athletics events compared to the arts.

In conclusion, I am of the firm belief that governments should put athletics their top priority when devoting budget. This is mainly because not only do sports events motivate citizens to get involved in sports activities and in this way, they can maintain better health, but also these events are substantially popular among people and bring joy to the community.