Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the most important tasks of governments is how to allocate the national budget to public matters such as social health, educational system, athletes, and defense. Society is often divided on the priorities of governmental expenses. For example, whereas some prefer that the state supports arts, others believe that national athletic teams deserve more public supports. I believe that the government should sponsor athletic activities more than arts. There are three reasons why I subscribe to this idea which are separately elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, national athletic achievements can affect society very positively. Each victory or success raises the sense of pride in people and makes them believe more in their abilities. On the contrary, defeats can affect the citizens in a bad way. It can decrease their hope and grow some anger inside them. Thus, these bad feelings have harmful effects on the way people interact with each other in different places, such as school, university, or workplaces. In addition, athletic victories bring lots of social happiness among people. Take a personal experience as an example, I clearly remember the year 1997 when our national football team defeated Australia to be qualified for the world cup 1998 held in France. That unexpected victory brought people to the streets to celebrate until midnight. All over the country, there were talks about the achievement and the player that scored the final goal gained huge popularity that no one before and after gained. That event and its later consequences learned me the importance of sport in our societies.

Second, athletic activities are followed by a bigger part of society. It is more widespread through people. So, any investment in developing these activities from the government benefits more people. To explain more, art is more exclusive and has a more limited body of special fans, often at highly educated levels. As a result, spending more on this special interest leads to cover fewer people. This idea easily can be examined if you compare the viewers of a football game with those who attend a theater or go to movies or art performances, whether they are shown on television or in halls and stadiums. Government should consider the amount of benefited people in allocating the public budget.

Third, success in athletic competitions like the world cup or Olympics can portray a country very well. For example, the large number of medals achieved by American athletics in Olympic games, raise a sense of compliment in other countries. As a real example, wrestling fans in my country, Iran, like the American wrestler Jordan Boroughs very much because of his unique style and a bunch of his gold medals.

In conclusion, I suggest that the state spend as much as possible to improve the country's national athletic achievements. I feel this way because athletic activities have stronger effects on society's health and happiness. Furthermore, more citizens attend athletic tasks than art practices. Finally, this investment has a great effect on rising the country's status around the globe.