Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

We can not learn everything in this world because there are indefinite areas for study. There is a debate amid people, whether it is better to learn dfifferent fields of study, or to concentrate in only one field of study. Personally, I believe that it is better to study many academic subjects than just studying only one field. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, many subjects are interdisciplinary, so that it is better to study various subjects matter, which might be useful to understand different types of problem. When we have knowledge about the various fields, then we can solve the problem related to others fields of study, so that our prestige in the society will be improved. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. After my graduation from Agriculture and Forestry University, Nepal, I had two options in M.Sc. Agriculture, whether to study single subjects, or to take variety of discipline. I chose variety of courses in my master level. Knowledge about the various fields was more applicable when I started my career as an agriculture officer at Baglung. It is easier for me to deal with the farmers having different types of problem such as diseases, insects, variety selection, agronomic practices, etc. Since I have knowledge about the various fields of agriculture, I was able to solve the problems of farmers, which increases my social prestige.

Secondly, having knowledge about the various fields is also helpful in doing part-time job, so that we can earn more money. If we have free time then that time can be used to do part-time job, provided that you have knowledge on various subjects matter. For instance, my brother major field of study is physics, and he teaches physics in Birendra Multiple Campus. He also can teach matematics, since he has a good understanding of the mathematics. He does part-time mathematics teaching in Sagarmatha education center, and earns more than 30,000 NPR per month. So, if you have knowledge about the various fields of study then you can earn more amount of money by doing part-time job.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that having a knowledge on variety of subjects is better than studying single subject. This is because by studying different subjects, we can solve the problems of various inter-related fields, and because we can get more amount of money from part-time job.