Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don’t know (for example, by giving clothing and food to people who need them) than they were in the past.

It is commonly known that many regions across the globe have seen huge economic and technological changes over the past few decades, and those who are fortunate enough to experience these developments are sure to have discerned diverse changes that ensue in our lives. The issue has been raised whether people today are readier to help strangers than they were in the past. As far as I am concerned, people are more willing to offer their help to those who they don’t know.

First of all, people are more prepared to help others because they are more financially capable of doing so. In the past, most individuals earned just enough to support their family, and they probably didn’t think that they needed to help strangers with similar financial status. However, with the development of the economy, although the gap between rich and poor is widening, more members of society, especially the affluent, are aware of this social problem and are glad to make donations to help those in need. For example, many wealthier individuals now donate clothes that they no longer need to people somewhere else who are still struggling with the cold.

Second, technology connects different groups of society and makes it easier to help strangers. Before the invention of the Internet, some people were probably reluctant to make donations because it was difficult to know who they were going to help and whether their donations would reach those who needed them. However, today photographs and videos can be transmitted fast online, and this provides an easy way for helpers to keep track of their donations and even see them put in the hands of those who receive help. Another example is Wikipedia. Users spend time writing and editing, sharing their information and ideas with strangers from all over the world. A man offering his edition of an entry on Wikipedia in New York may be giving great help to millions of people across the globe. Without technology, this would not be so easy.

Third, the tremendous sense of self-worth that a person gains through online feedback also contributes to more helping behaviors. If a man provides a popular answer to a question on Quora, then he will likely feel a strong and long-lasting sense of self-worth because many people from different places keep reading his answer and giving him upvotes, signs that show their agreement with his answer. This is a simple feedback mechanism made possible by today’s technology, but it creates a strong sense of pride in helpers by showing them that many readers have benefited from their answers. The more individuals they help, the prouder they feel. This is the driving force behind the increasing number of such seemingly altruistic acts online.

In conclusion, today’s people are more willing to help those they don’t know. This is because some of them get wealthier than the others, and technology has also encouraged many good deeds on the Internet.