Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For parents to raise a responsible adult is the biggest responsibility. Parents have to give their children a head start by teaching various skills, so they can become responsible and well organized adults in their practical life. As regards to the topic, some may encourage not to do the part time job for their teenager and some encourages their teenagers to do a part-time job. In my opinion and a mother of three children, I would encourage teenagers to do a part time job.

First, teenage age is the very tender age to teach them life lesson skills and they are most likely to adopt and learn quickly. So, some parents encourage their teenagers to teach their children the basic learning skills which eventually help them in future too. For instance, when I was a teenager my mother encouraged me to do tutoring as a part-time job. She explained to me by saying that in this way you have your money and can buy whatever you want. I learnt many things from my part-time job. I manage my time accordingly, learnt to deal with the customer, manage my own money. Indeed, this help me a lot in my future jobs too. Like I worked as a pharmacy technician so I need to manage the customers which is the basic skills which I already learnt and can easily manage to deal with the customers.

Secondly, when students do a part-time job as soon as they are in high school they can easily save the money for college and can easily be debt free. As a result of this, they have a goal to pursue and learn responsibility to save money for their future. For instance, my cousin when she was in high school started to work as a retail representative in the Boba tea shop and also in Starbucks coffee shop. She was motivated when she got her first salary and saved her money for her college. After the graduation from college she told me that she was blessed that she had money for college and she is debt free. So, part-time job teaches many valuable lessons to teenager and motivates them to pursue their dream career without the exhaustion of money problems.

To sum up this topic, I would say parents should encourage and motivate their teenagers to take a part-time job. The part-time job teaches students to manage their time while balancing between their studies and job. Moreover, it teaches to be responsible and focus oriented towards their career. There are many more benefits of doing a part-time job and teenagers should do the part-time job.