Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Overall the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today s world

There is no disputing the fact that nowadays most of us can’t do without the Internet. The Internet has had a massive influence on almost all aspects of our modern life, like communication, health, and the environment. There are many pros and cons to the Internet, making people around the world hold different positions about this phenomenon. Mainly, elderly people criticize the Internet for having harmful effects on the quality of life. Another group of people states that one cannot gloss over the positive impacts the Internet has on human lives. I agree with the statement that the Internet has had a net positive impact on our lives for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, there have been so many medical improvements thanks to the Internet. For instance, a surgeon connoisseur of heart diseases in the united states can perform surgery on a patient in Venezuela using robotics and an internet connection. In this regard, the destination is no longer a barrier to saving human lives. It is also worthy to mention that scientists around the world can easily publish their papers in medical journals and doctors all over the world can access their new findings which in turn allows them to use the best treatments on their patients. For example, scientists in England found a new diagnostic test that could detect the presence of a specific virus inside the human body in less than 2 minutes. Having their method published online, all the countries around the world could make use of their new method to control the propagation rate of the virus better, which was conducive to saving lots of lives.

Furthermore, the Internet obliterated the need for physical presence for some activities like running errands or paying the bills. We can have most of our transactions done using the Internet at any time of the day. Students can also use the Internet to pay for the expenses related to their matriculation or even their application fees. In my example, I could easily pay for my taxi ride in a safe way and without contact using the Internet during the pandemic. Had the Internet never existed, living would have been so much harder indeed.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the Internet has had a net positive influence on our lives. This is because it has been an essential factor in recent developments in many criteria like medical treatments. Moreover, the Internet has imparted comfort to our daily life in many ways, like doing transactions online.