Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is beyond doubt that with the dawn of human civilization, people have adopted new ways to spend a successful life as compared to the past. In this regard, taking profound decisions of a significant level is of paramount importance. There has been no shortage of debates among scholars. Some contemplate that it is better for young people to make their own life-decisions while some reckon the idea of depending on parents for a better outcome. As for the writer's opinion, I subscribe to the notion by disagreeing that young people are able to make good decisions on their own. In what follows, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my viewpoint is that young people are not mature enough to understand all aspects related to a decision. It is notable that children with the group age of 12 to 21 do not have a well-developed brain. They tend to make choices on impulse and engage themselves in risk-taking behavior. As a result, they cry over a spilled milk due to bad circumstances. It is crystal clear that they do not oversee the long-term effects of their choice and prefer the current profit. Vividly, by doing immature activities they destroy their currier nowadays. However, in the past, the immerging generation of society respected their parents' thoughts and aided in the development of their country with passion. By way of illustration, 5 years ago my dad told me to marry a person whom I never met. Since I belong to a very conservative family, I decided to go with his choice and respected the ethics he taught me. 1 year later, I got married to that person and now I am happily married. Had I not listened to my father and denied his decision, I would not be satisfied with my life like most young people today. This example clearly explains my point.

The second exquisite reason behind my belief is rooted in the fact that children need parents because elders are experienced more than them. It is notable that parents have seen the insight and have spent more time struggling with life. As compared to the young generation, their decision-making quality is one step ahead. They have broken the ice for their kid strenuously. Thus, they better evaluate the situation in order to survive in this contemporary world. So, young people can incorporate their experts' choice with their knowledge to obtain innumerable achievements. As a case in mind to shed more light, 1 year ago my brother decided to start a business in California. He took all the possible advice from my father to enhance his business. Since my father had more experience with dealing with people, he guided him in a very profound way. As a result, he never faced any loss in business.

By perusing the above paragraphs, one can infer that although taking life decisions makes the young generation independent but it could lead to adverse consequences for them. Therefore, taking parents' advice is recommended. For the sake of brevity, a couple of reasons are worth reiterating: first, young people are immature, second, they need expert advice. As a writer, I vehemently urge people to listen to their parents to get success in their lives.