Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Of those issues that many societies have concerned since antiquity, setting up the rules and regulations is one of the most prominent. In this respect, some people believe that today’s rules are too strict for youngsters to obey. However, some others stand at the other extreme, holding the view that contemporary regulations are not rigid but beneficial. Yet to the best of my knowledge, I side with the latter idea. In the following paragraphs, I lend credence to my standpoint.

First and foremost, the judicial system has passed legislation to regulate the youth in upright conduct. Suffice to say, rules apply to bring into line the young people whose behavior goes beyond allowed by principles of a community. In this regard, some laws would be somehow tough to meet the requirements of norms and framework; the absence of which will lead to anarchic, chaotic society. An example can drive this notion home. In my country, drinking alcohol is illegal, cultivating young people to become detached from its adverse effect on their body not only physically but also mentally. That is not to say that they cannot have joyful time, but these juveniles can consume their energy in a more moral, positive way such as going to the party and dancing without dinking prohibitive beverage. Had the government not set regulations against the alcohol, young people in my country would not be able to be prosperous in the first flush of their youth.

What is more, today’s rules and regulations are based on collective wisdom, contributing to rational, practical restriction to the youth. To elucidate more on this issue, contemporary laws are supposed to carry out comprehensively and thoroughly, for they would not be accomplished if rules were too rigid and solid. It is crystal clear that young people are on the threshold of adulthood, walking through the door to their future. In this regard, under no circumstances are the young people to be left lawless, leading to hazardous, aggressive behaviors such as juvenile delinquency. For instance, one of the most overriding rules regulated is about the speed limit. This measure is to protect youngsters against perilous, precarious situations. Therefore, laws prove to be not only worthwhile but also crucial for protecting young people.

In the final analysis, I have to reiterate my standpoint that today’s laws are not too rigid for the youth to obey. This is because young people are taught to respect norms and beliefs; and rules are regulated by the conversant, erudite judicial system, which considers all the merits and demerits of the law.