Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people believe showing people happy images (pictures in which great achievements are made in helping the poor) is more effective in encouraging them to take action to solve poverty than showing them sad images (pictures that let us know how hard life can be for the poor).

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although many parts of the world are industrialized, meaning people there can live prosperously, there are still countries and regions that are economically less developed. From my perspective, showing sad images of those places can effectively help fight against poverty there.

First, heartrending images display realistic pictures of people in need. People who can make meaningful contributions to the fight against poverty are generally from developed nations, growing up rarely facing any shortage of daily necessities. And this means they have relatively little first-hand experience about what problems are troubling people in poorly-developed regions. Thus, when seeing scenes depicting the happiness of poor people, they will not know why these people will need monetary aid or what kind of assistance they can offer. However, if images, albeit sad, can depict the sufferings of these poor people, those from wealthier nations can better understand their needs. For example, many people from western countries might not be aware of how drinking water can be a life or death matter troubling millions. But when seeing pictures showing people threatened by being unable to access clean drinking water or parched land associated with crop failures and famine, they would know the importance of funding irrigation facilities or water treatment plants for these people. Therefore, they would be more likely to make donations when they see the real threats plaguing those people in need.

Second, people are more able to empathize with sadness than happiness. Nowadays, most people do not face much adversity in their lives, making them relatively naïve in social experience in general. As a result, many criminals are taking advantage of this - many people are victims of internet fraud. So, when seeing charity photos showing how happy the poor are, people might become alert and question why these people will need any help. Even worse, they might need to pay for costly annuity or mortgage, meaning they would likely pity themselves instead of the poor. In this scenario, offering money to help others can be out of the question for them. However, humans are particularly willing to emphasize those living in misery. For instance, when many award-winning journalistic pictures depict how miserable lives can be in third-world countries, such as malnourished children in an African country. The reason these pictures are well-received can be self-explanatory - these pictures can move people. When there is empathy, people will be more willing to take charitable actions to fight poverty.

To conclude, sad images can display realistic challenges in poverty-stricken countries to call for help and are better able to inspire people’s empathy.