Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The behavior demonstrated by the students are greatly impacted by the people surrounding them in their day-day life. In general, a student tend to spend his/her most of the time in the school where they are surrounded by many different people, but most of the time by teachers and their colleagues. Although some may argue that a student spends most of their times with friends and get influenced in the process, I strongly believe that major influence on the students is because of their teachers who guides them during their learning process.

The foremost reason why I am in support with the argument is: the students consciously or sub-consciously imitates their senior members as compared to their friends. For the supporting example one need a look no further than my school experience. While we (me and my class friends) were playing football in our sports class with the teacher on the field, two of the teammates collided with each other in an unusual manner resulting a serious injury to one of them. At that instance, no-one approached the injured student due to fear or sudden harsh impact on them. However, within a quick time, sport teacher (who was on the field) rushed to the student with the first-aid kit. Later, he advised students to help your teammates as soon as possible in such situations. After a month later, similar incident happened in the filed, and, guess what, this time every students immediately went after the students and started the first aid treatment. Thus, it can be easily perceived that students were strongly influence by the teachers deeds and imitated then in similar future events.

Another subtle reason that strengthens my claim is that students idolizes teachers as their role models and devotes themselves to develop like them. Some students wants to reflect like his/her teacher in terms of career making him/her passionate to their future. The evident example on this particular claim is my career itself. During my undergraduate study in civil engineering (branch of engineering that deals with design and analysis of infrastructures), I came across my reinforced concrete design subject teacher, namely Dr. Dipendra Gautam. He is a popular figure in the civil engineering field in Nepal due to his research contributions, specifically in the field of structural engineering--civil engineering branch that deals with structures. I went through his research papers accessing it from the laboratory and was enticed my his motive of the work to impact the lives of the people through engineering. Thus, I chose to direct my career in the field of structural engineering and invested my time on the subjects related to it. After it completion, I joined in research lab and learned a lot about structural engineering. Now, I recently assisted earthquake-resistant housing constructions in one of the rural community of Nepal which was devastated by the earthquake. It instilled a great measure of contention inside me. Had I never idolized him and dedicated time in the particular area, I would never have been able to achieve that feat.

Taking account of the above mentioned reasons, the teachers greatly impact students behavior and way they think since they are role model for them and feel secure to share their ideas.