Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students can learn as much by watching movies as they can learn by reading books

With the surge of media technology, today we are presented with a variety of options to choose our educational content from. Nevertheless, watching TV or movies is a passive form of absorbing educational content, in contrast to reading books. Thus, reading is more educational than watching movies or TV.

While it is true that the human brain is well adept at processing visual information, nonetheless, the passivity associated with the watching of TV cannot be denied. For example, we can all think of a time in our life, maybe even multiple times, when we have merely starred at the TV screen or computer monitor without actually paying any heed to the content. Rather we were consumed by our own thoughts. These distractions are not an anomaly when it comes to watching video content. The prime reason being: the level of engagement involved in watching TV. Whereas, when we are reading a book, we have to read it consciously and use our imagination along the way. This negates the possibility of passivity and thus help in gleaning educational content from the source in an active fashion.

Furthermore, reading involves the usage of auditory, olfactory, and imaginative abilities. Whereas, watching TV or movies involves only the visual ability of the brain. It has been scientifically verified that the more engagement of the nervous system we have with content, the higher its probability of retention. Thus, it is likely that a student reading a book will retain the content better than a student watching similar content over video sources, which can eventually lead to better grades and school performance for the student involved in reading.

Lastly, watching movies or TV opens up a wide variety of sources for distraction for any student. For instance, the TV can feature different content on different channels. Even if they are educational, a student is likely to be inundated with a plethora of options to choose from at a given time. This abundance of options will reduce his/her productivity and will be pernicious to maintaining an adequate level of focus, which is essential to understanding educational content. However, the student pursuing reading will have a limited option to navigate in the same book. Although, he/she might be tempted to read ahead new chapters, nonetheless, he/she will not likely to be bombarded with options as the student pursuing TV or movies for education.

In conclusion, reading may be a more useful learning tool for pupils.