Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

It goes without saying that from ancient times to this contemporary modern time, teachers have played a leading role in every society. They have been striving to educate children having been supposed to attend the society. As technology has been developing at the galloping rate, the social status of teachers has been affected considerably. The controversial question which arises here whether or not teachers were respected and valued more in the past in comparison to current time. Taking the recent studies into account, it seems as if people appreciated teachers more in the past.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that becoming a teacher was an arduous job in the past and astute individual with high possibilities and facilities could reach this purpose. To put in other words, most of people made living raising crops and livestock in the past community and there were a few people developed interest in becoming a teacher due to lack of abilities and facilities. As a result, teachers could easily set themselves apart from crowd and had very high social position in society, which led to gaining respect from others. While in today’s world, everyone has at least one teacher in their social circle. An example can drive this notion home. My grandfather, born in rich family, mentioned that there was no teacher in their small city to teach them and they had to travel long distance to neighboring city to be educated. Having finished his high school with high GPA, he made big decision to become a teacher since in their extended family, rarely did someone go out of the family business. After finishing his study, not only his family but also fellow-citizen praised and admired him because of his significant accomplishment as a teacher before that no one could obtain. Hence, as being a teacher was a demanding occupation in the past society, people held teachers in high regard.

The second noteworthy point is that the advent of computer technology which has revolutionized the world of education has made teachers’ role pale by comparing with the past. To be more specific, computer technology along with internet introduce new notions to the world of education such as distance learning, online classes, and virtual classes. There are more and more students participating in such classes instead of entering physical classes where teachers are and consequently, individuals have been valuing teachers less and less. So, had there been these innovative technologies in the past, people may not have praised teachers to such extent.

In conclusion, having aforementioned reasons and examples into account, one can infer that teachers were held in high regard. Because, not only was being teacher a challenging career but also there were no novel technologies such as computer making teachers’ role less important in community.