Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

It goes without saying that teachers have been considered as one the most important building blocks of a society either in an ancient times or in contemporary periods. While some people assumes that teachers were highly appreciated and respected in the previous times, others stand at the other side of the continuum, believing that nowadays they are more valued compared to the past. Personally speaking, I hold the view that teachers and instructors used to be appreciated and valued in the past more than today. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, being the one and only source of information in the previous times, teachers were highly respected by the society. It is no secret to anyone that from ancient times and even to the past few decades, teachers and instructors were the only treasures of knowledge and wisdom. People could not have gained the necessary and required information they want, unless they asked and posed their questions to literate personalities-the teachers. However, nowadays, it is well-understood that teachers take the role of guidance not the mere source of information. Every individual is equipped with various assortments of technologies- in particular the internet- to discover their surrounding world. The absence of such astounding source of information made people to be highly dependent on the teachers. This dependency and reliance to teachers made them the cornerstone of the society and people considered them the most prestigious and valuable circles of the community. Were the past generation provided with the ample opportunities and technologies to gain knowledge and information as easily and conveniently as we do, they would not have appreciated and valued the teachers to the highest potential.

Moreover, job opportunity was scarce in the past and the one who became a teacher was considered to be highly talented. In other words, since most of people in the past followed their predecessors' occupations and few among all the dwellers of a community became a teacher, they were appreciated by peoples to a great extent. However, today every one of us has the chance and ability to become a teacher if we want to and there is not as many obstacles as there used to be. An example can drive this notion home. My grandfather, being a teacher himself, explained that how people used to exalt him merely because of being a teacher. Not only the students, but also the parents and other members of the village he worked for considered him as the most important and reliable person of their small society because he was the only teacher that instruct the students of more than eight different villages. Under such a circumstance, because of the rarity of this profession and the constant need of people to learn and become educated, they appreciate the teaching profession that is not comparable to the present time.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned reasons and points into account, I do believe that teachers were more valued and appreciated in the past than today. Teachers used to be considered as the main and sole source of knowledge and information, the absence of technologies would even exacerbate this demand. Moreover, since not all people in the past had the chance to become a teacher themselves, they praised the teachers and commend their work to a high degree.