Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is hard to deny that teachers should be permitted to discuss political views due to freedom of speech, which leads impressionable people to conclude that there is no necessity to stop teachers from making their social or political views in class. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies. As far as teaching effectiveness, authority influence, and critical thinking are concerned, I firmly hold that it is unappropriated for teachers to share their political opinion with their students during classes.

First and foremost, taking personal thoughts of politics to class could lower lesson effectiveness, as many students will feel awkward about their teachers' political views. Meanwhile, Suppose teachers' expressed opinion opposes the opinion of some students. In that case, the students may feel too intimidated to share their opinions in fear of judgment by the teacher or their fellow students. Not to mention that for students who do share a differing opinion than that of the teacher, the student (or possibly the teacher) might try to substantiate their belief, resulting in the pair to feel uncomfortable and potentially create a communication barrier between the two. Due to teachers' resentment, students could become disengaged in class, resulting in decreased participation and academic performance.

Furthermore, the fact that teachers are strong authority figures who have much influence over students, indicating that teachers pushing their political views can also affect the students with little to no political knowledge. Take the case of a high school, where many students and teachers shared the same political opinions and outspoke about their views, and most of the teachers made it clear that it was wrong to disagree with what they believe. If the students opposed the accepted mentality, they were subject to mockery, ridicule, and scolding from the teachers. Had it not been for the teachers exerting significant influences on students by talking politics in class, the small number of students who disagreed with the majority would not be berated to deviate from the accepted mentality and become outcasts.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that a classroom should be a place where critical thinking is encouraged so that teachers could share their political views in class. Ironically, under teachers' influence, students are probably unwilling to exchange their ideas and be afraid to voice their own opinions. A good teacher should want their students to develop into strong-minded individuals with confidence in their opinions. When teachers take this freedom away from students by voicing their political opinions, students cannot grow or expand their ideas because they may focus on staying on the teachers' side. Therefore, teachers had better not talk about their political ideas because they may restrict students to develop critical thinking ability.

In a nutshell, I maintain that teachers should stop sharing their political and social viewpoints in class. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.