Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, teachers have always played a big role in every students' character and mindset development, and they should be appreciated for that. However, personally I believe teachers were more respected in the past than these days. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, when we look at old times, we discern that there weren't so many source of knowledge like today. Only a few number of people knew how to read and write and among them even less people had high education. Thus, literate people were outnumbered. Plus, teachers were the only source that those who wanted to learn could attend to. My grandfather's experience is a compelling example of this. He narrates that when he was a kid and living in a village, there was only a person in their area who could have read and write, and due to his strong enthusiasm for learning, he respected the man so much that even he insisted on doing his chores after the class.

On the other hand, nowadays, teachers are not the only rare source of knowledge and there are so many educational content on the internet which can be learnt without teachers. For instance, for my final bachelor project, i needed to learn some foundation of deep learning. As long as all my courses at university were passed and only my project was left, I had no choice but to explore it on the internet and surprisingly I found a twelve sessions course of Stanford university on Youtube. Moreover, these days almost all the people have the literacy to write and read and there are so many teachers even in the furthermost villages.

Furthermore, children’s manners were so much different from now. Today's kids barely respect their own parents, let alone teachers. It is not an exaggeration if we say that most of them even despise school and all its staff. They are much more independent than old kids and they think they can get whatever they need on the internet. From my standpoint, nowadays children have different criteria for respecting a person than what we had in our childhood.

In conclusion, I concur that teachers were more respected in the past and they were one of the rare source of knowledge those days, but today, in favor of technology and the internet, there are myriad sources that can teach us instead of teachers and their presence has got more on wane.