Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that technology has resulted in our youth being less imaginative than they were in the past, probably because they are under the impression that these children simply “veg out” in front of the technology and don not exercise their creative capacities. However, I disagree with this stance for the following three reasons.

First of all, technology has been beneficial for children’s creativity because various tools have been invented that give children the opportunity to create whatever they imagine. For example, software like Microsoft paint and hardware like iPads have given children the chance to draw, paint, or design whatever they please. Some children illustrate dragons, some children paint fantasy worlds, and others plan their future businesses. In the past, when technology was not widely available, children were forced to use only low-quality paper and pencil (if they were able to acquire it) that made it difficult for them to make their dream come to life. Humans are very creative individuals, but, in many cases. If they do not have the tools necessary to bring their creations to reality, it becomes difficult for us to fully explore our imagination. Thus, these tools are in a sense imperative for us to reach our full potential. That is the reason why technology has had such a positive influence on the youth today.

Second of all, technology expands a child's cognitive ability. For example, if children play video games that requires them to use logic at every part of the game. The child tend to be more creative when doing any other tasks. The child has better decision making ability as he keeps making decision during his videos games.

Finally, technology has a lot of advantages in terms of accessing tutorials or lectures or many more things that can help a child learn more things. If used at its fullest capacity a children can find a lot of things that can help him learn new things. For example, my younger sister use to watch videos of art being made live. She used to watch them from her young childhood and started her painting and learned a lot using her iPad's. She is now a successful artist and can proudly say she as learned everything using the technology.

In conclusion, for the above three reason, I argue that technology helps the children to be creative and more creative than they were in the past because of all the tools available to them.