Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Among the kinds of support that might be developed in favor of banning such advertising might be that young children do not have the ability to tell what is good for them and what is not. So this may lead to children who will be excessively influenced by television advertising and form bad eating habits or demand to have every toy that they have seen advertised.

Those who disagree with the statement often develop one of their supports along the lines that it is the responsibility of the parents to decide what their children should watch on television and that parents should monitor their children’s reactions to shows or advertisements. Thus, it is not necessary for government or the television stations to ban advertisements directed at young children.

Keep in mind that there is no “correct” answer to this question. Either side of the issue can be supported with examples and reasons. The important part of this task is to make sure that you state your opinion and develop your response. Try to cover the topic as well as you can within your abilities. development of your essay is judged by the amount and kinds of support (reasons, examples, details) that you present, and a well-developed essay will contain clearly appropriate reasons, examples, and details—ones that do a good job supporting or illustrating the points you are making. development is not simply the number of words you write.

Your response should be well organized. If your essay is well organized, a reader will be able to read from beginning to end without becoming confused. You should be sure not to just repeat the same information in different ways.

The quality and accuracy of the sentence structure and vocabulary you use to express your ideas is also very important.