Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require every graduating students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

It is undeniable that public speaking is one of the most important ability of graduated people. Although some people are of the opinion that public speaking courses must be optional at universities, I support a contradictory view. As far as I am concerned this courses should be obligatory for graduating students of universities. There are numerous reasons for this view, two of which -that is- knowledge presenting ability, and universities well condition for practicing this ability, are the most outstanding ones elaborated hereunder.

To begin with, the most striking reason why I believe universities should oblige graduating students to take public speaking courses are the fact that graduated people should have this ability in order to present their knowledge in front of the many people in the conferences. Undoubtedly some of graduated students after their graduation will become either teacher or scientific researcher. Therefore, in each of these work, teacher or scholar must have the ability of public speaking. For instance, if teachers cannot speak in public, how he or she can provide his or her knowledge and teaches students, and so he or she will not successful in teaching. Another example is scholars, they do many types of research and experiments in order to find reasons for problems, finding new methods, or making life easier, to name but a few. So if they cannot present whatever they find, all of their efforts will be useless.

Another equally important point is that universities provide very good conditions for practicing this ability. Since at universities many students participate in courses, so when professors want students to presents a chapter of their books for their classmates they not only have this chance to speak in front of twenty or thirty students but also they can improve their public speaking ability. For example, I remember when I was graduating student, our professors asked each of us to present a chapter of our books. This was a beneficial experience for me, inasmuch as until that time, I had never spoken to the public, and by this practices, my public speaking ability improved significantly.

All in all, with all this taken in to account, some people believe that universities should not oblige graduating students to take public speaking courses, while in my opinion, these courses are indispensable for them, as they need this ability in their future life, and as mentioned universities are the best place in order to improve this ability.