Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require every graduating students to take public speaking courses. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

According to recent survey, one of the most intimidating fears for most people is the fear of speaking in front of public. More than the fear of spiders or height, public speaking even causes people to sweat or shaking uncontrollably. In my opinion, public speaking course should be a required course. This essay will include more detail about my opinion.

Traditional educational systems in many countries in Asia are really strict and old-fashioned. Students are not allowed to express their thoughts and opinions during a class. While teachers are giving lectures, students are not supposed to interrupt the teacher or ask any questions. As a result, a lot of students grew up without the ability to give a public speech and are even intimidated while speaking in front of a lot of people. Therefore, having public speaking courses in college furnishes a meaningful opportunity for students to overcome their fear. For example, the lectures might include tips and tricks to overcome the fear and speak more confidently, which will be beneficial to most students, especially students in Asia.

With population growth and globalization, people nowadays are often required to work with a group of people, far more people to collaborate with compared to people in the past. Public speaking has become more and more important, especially in international companies. Therefore, taking public speaking courses in college will sharpen up the skills of organizing and learn how to deliver message effectively and accurately in order to prepare for their future career. For example, in many cases, students will have to present their research results or attending seminars, where speaking publicly is inevitable. This way, public speaking courses help students how to organize their presentation, doing outlines, and expressing details clearly.

Public speaking courses also furnish heartfelt opportunities for students to learn how to persuade listeners. Ongoing research also suggest that public speech is the most effective way to build up confidence and self-esteem since one will need to be persuasive and give out meaningful explanation of one’s ideas. For example, when explaining an innovative idea or an interesting invention, self-confidence is built while the presentation stuns the audience. In a public speaking class one will have a lot of opportunities to practice various kinds of presentations. As a result, students can definitely have a sense of achievement while doing a presentation.

In sum, I believe public speaking should be a required course, this is because it helps students not only to overcome fears, but also build up students confidence. It is undeniable that taking public speaking lessons are beneficial.