Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students’ sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Extracurricular activities play an important role in a student's life. These activities help students to groom themselves physically and mentally. Hence, I personally believe that universities should equally contribute to sports activities and libraries. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, students go to universities to explore and experiment with every domain of their life. In those four years they want to experience possibly everything they can, and extracurricular activities is one of them. Furthermore, academic institutions are places where students can compete mentally as well as physically. In my opinion universities should fund diversifically for sports activities. As, sports generate business for universities. In my experience, I was a part of the university sports management and I have noticed that sports events generate endorsements and rankings for the University.As these activities involves teams, competitions, and brands.

Secondly, sports activities help students to develop and know their interests. Many students join the national teams from the universities as they have the best exposure of the sport and competence. Hence, sports should be given equal importance as academics. For instance, my brother is an exceptional rugby player, but has not played rugby until he reached university. Meanwhile, in the university he developed an interest in the game and now he is a professional rugby player. Another personal example, I loved swimming but never had the opportunity to showcase my skills and compete. The university I was in let me emphasize on the sport and I won tons of accolades in swimming.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that sports activities should be funded equally as libraries in universities. This is because they help students to develop their interests and groom themselves academically as well as physically.Also, sports activities bring in endorsements and improve rankings of the universities which will benefit the institution immensely.