Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Being able to speak well is better than being able to write well

People communicate with each other by the help of speaking or writing. For direct expression of thought, they talk and sort out their issues or share feelings. However, for indirect communication, writing notes, letters, books etc are done inorder to express what they are going through. Most of all, speaking and writing are both essential skills for the overall personality development. Moreover, I think being able to speak well is better than being able to write well. For an instance,while performing drama if a good writer can not speak out what he has written, it is convoluted situation to convince the entire audience. This may lead drama to fall flat. There are several reasons why speaking well rules out writing well.

First, the most common form of communication is speaking. It is the way how we express ourselves and our experiences orally. If we speak clearly and fluently, it will be easier for us to stand confident among the crowd. When we move to the new place, only way we can adjust there is by speaking to the new people. Speaking helps to build the bridge among people. For example, many people commute different countries, they talk well so they are able to maintain the work. Similarly, students go abroad for studies, there are numerous people, only way they communicate is by speaking. For this, one has to speak, be mediocre or excellent at speaking but has to be able to express.

Second, speaking well can contribute to different professional fields such as teachers, motivational speakers, political leaders, etc. One who can speak well can influence anyone. They are capable of making people believe what they say. For example, how a teacher teaches mass of students, he has to be vocal and forceful. This will help students understand what he is saying. Another example, how a politician grasps votes, he is an influencer. He may be crafty but he has ability to guile the common people. It is because of his speech, he attracts voters and grab an opportunity for his well being.

Third, everyone can speak. While written texts cannot be read by everyone. This is one of the factor that support the efficacy of speaking well is helpful. Illiterate people cannot read the written messages but can easily understand the spoken words. Therefore, there is wide acceptance of ability of speaking well. In contrast, we forget what we speak; so writing can be fruitful to keep up with memories, experiences and feelings. It can be kept as a memoir which can be seen in future as well.

In conclusion, to be expressive and able to adjust in varying environment, being able to speak well is substantial. In the same way, speaking and writing, both are essential for overall development of personality. We need to practice a lot to improve our speaking and writing. We have to learn more and read more to hone both skills. To be a good orator and a self sufficient writer, we have to work hard. For example, even for abroad study, we have to be good at both speaking and writing. Be it be ILETS or TOEFL, both requires better grades in speaking and writing. Even various job interviews are based on both skills. Hence, equal priority has to be given to speaking and writing.