Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a controversial argument among ordinary individuals or even intellectuals, through which numerous conflicts have been engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that specialization is of more importance for people rather than knowing many academic subjects, while others consider this in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all the opposite attitudes, I generally concur with the idea that associating academic subjects is a better education method rather than just majoring in one field. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

First and foremost, it is understood that specializing in one major is the most common approach to people, but I respectfully disagree and believe that life, itself, is a multi-dimensional issue, so people should be multi-dimensional also, in order to cope with their lives and improve them. For example, if one is majoring in mathematics, and lacks in social skills such as relationship psychology or the skill of presenting a good lecture, he/she will probably have so many dilemmas in terms of both relationships and other life issues. My point is, a mathematician who does not have knowledge about nothing but mathematics will not be able to found a family.

In addition to getting multi-dimensional, it enhances career opportunities for individuals. Nowadays, most of the companies are looking for people with great diversity in knowledge, because managers are utilitarian. In fact, whatever that would be able to increase the profit for the companies is more important for them. As a matter of fact, human resources are one of the most essential pillars of a company. One is to have more skills in order to get better job or get promoted. for instance, if one were a great project expert; however, he/she would not be able to describe the plan appropriately for his/her manager, he/she definitely would have so many troubles in his/her workplace.

Apart from the points that I have made above there is another reason that I would like to discuss about, and that is integrating different subjects, increases creativity. Knowing a broad variety of subjects helps people to think out of the box. From my personal experience, I can say that majoring in industrial engineering was so profitable for me. Because of the diversity of the subjects we learn not only are we able to think out of the box, but also we are able to find the optimum solution for every problem, which is the most fundamental purpose of our major.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I fundamentally agree with the statement that knowing a wide spectrum of knowledge is more beneficial for both individuals and societies.