Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Movies and television are so common in this era that almost everyone has seen them. Discussion now centers on whether they are relatively negative to the way young people behave. In my opinion, I would agree that, in general, their positive effects are more significant than the negative impacts on young people’s behaviors. I feel this way for three main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, one of the reasons why positive influences of movies and television are more than negative ones on how the young behave is that when we are watching movies or television, it is natural to stepped back and think about our own lives as outsiders. What it means is that we can always find ourselves in movies or television. And only in this way can we rethink our behaviors clearly, which can contribute to our good self-modifications. For example, the young people could learn that emotion is much more important than money from watching too many such stories about love and bread presented in movies and television. Because even if romantic stories are different, they will make you think that which one you will choose if you were the character and the results behind the choices, which will make them treasure their relationships much more. Thus, this evidence highlights that movies and television make the young people observe themselves objectively, which is an enormous advantage to their behaviors.

Another reason for this is that they are more impressive and influential than any other thing on the way young people behave. This is because movies and television are so easy to understand and so visual. For instance, it is very normal for a 6-year-old boy to watch movies or television and basically understand them when books or lectures always make them confused. Therefore, movies and television can influence the young people deeply and unconsciously, which is one of the best ways of education.

On the other hand, those who are against these ideas may claim that movies and television could teach the young bad actions because they usually do not have enough discernment to determine which is right and which is wrong. They may have a point in thinking like that. However, what is also worth noticing is that it is also a good chance to improve their abilities of making judgement, which is a fun way to conducting moral education. Given this, movies and television generally play active roles in the young people’s behavior education.

To conclude, the essay discussed that movies and television have less negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave for three reasons: they give us an outside perspective to reflect on our behaviors; the moral function of them is deep and irresistible; they could help young people form a ability of judgement.