Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, doing things they like to do, rather than doing things they should do

Since the beginning of this century, in the distinctive civilized societies, it has been a very controversial argument that nowadays, people would rather to spend their time on doing their favorite things rather than on doing the things they should do, through which numerous conflicts has engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that people spend much more time on their personal enjoyment, while others consider this argument in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all the opposite attitudes I strongly disagree with the statement that individuals spend too much time on their hobbies. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

To begin with, the rate of depression among individuals shows that not everybody in this crazy world is happy. I mean if people spend their time on their hobbies then how come we saw too many depressed persons around us? For example, in my city, Tehran, six out of ten persons you see each day is either stressed out or depressed. As a matter of fact, I do believe that today people spend their time on activities they don't like.

In addition to increasing rate of depression, nowadays it is much harder to find an appropriate job and one can see it from the rate of unemployment; therefore, not everybody pursues their dreams. In fact, individuals stick to the first job that could pay off their life. It is so obvious that the prices are increasing, so people prefer to spend their time on doing an activity that bring them money, so that they can handle their lives. Although lots of people go after their dream jobs; however, there are a lot of people that work just for the sake of money. For example, after I graduated from college for two years I had to work in a lousy office as a secretary, so that I can pay my bills. As soon as I got an opportunity for a better job I quit my previous job.

Apart from the points I made above, there is also another reason that I would like to discuss about. I believe a lot of people work at their youth to save money for their future; that is, some individuals think of the retirement period as a better opportunity for doing their favorite activities and dedicating time to their fun. Obviously this statement depends on the culture, which people grew up in. For example, people of Las Vegas spend much more time on having fun than people of Tehran. My people always had been taught that saving money for the future is the most reasonable thing to do, so many of my people spend their time on doing boring tasks that they even don't like.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I fundamentally disagree with the statement that today a lot of people spend their time on doing fun activities rather than doing things they should do.