Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teaching is a novel profession and generally teachers are highly respected in a society. In our childhood we both fear and respect our teachers. With the advancement of technology, life and society has been tremendously changed by this time. A controversial question which is often raised is that whether teachers are respected and valued by society today compared to the past. From my perspective I believe that in most cases teachers are somewhat neglected in society. Essential and persuasive evidence will be provided in the following paragraphs to verify my judgement.

Whenever I think of teacher of my childhood time, I see a learned person who dedicated his life to pass his knowledge to the students. In past, only the best scholars were selected to be a teacher and they were considered like gems in the society. Therefore, when a person gained enough knowledge and motivated to be a pedagogy, it was much appreciated in the society. However, things have been changed a lot today and now teaching becomes a job like other professional sectors. People without much knowledge or dedication might get involved into this profession. This situation gradually decreases faith and respect on them.

In addition, another important factor contributes to degradation of teaching profession. In this competitive world, people always look for money and salary becomes a key factor while choosing any career path. As salary has not been increased proportionally compared to other sectors, educated people do not find it attractive to pursue career in teaching. Moreover, many teachers are now getting involved in unethical ways to make money. For instance, in my city, private coaching centers are rising fast and some teachers always try to force students to get private coaching rather than learning in school. Therefore, inadequate salary and greediness of some people causes humiliation of this novel job.

Last but not least, with the advancement of technology, people can get educational resources online free of cost. Thus, one might think that it is easier to learn something using online resources. Consequently, students do not feel the importance of teacher in their life, as they can get every resources online. In our childhood, it was not as easy as it is now and at that time we could not make any progress without support of our teachers. Therefore, we are much grateful to our teachers to help our growth.

To wrap it up, I must say that a novel profession like teaching has been deteriorated due to many reasons and teachers are not much respected and somewhat neglected in currents society.