Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Blessed are those, who keep their circle small. By the circle I mean the circle of relationships and the network of friends that we enclose in our life time. I highly recommend people to have a few number of friends over a long period of time and this idea seems not contentious to me at all. Trustworthy, better chance of getting familiar and people with specific sort of behaviors are my justifications which sound convincing for me to be in touch with smaller quantity of people.

First and for most, the level of trust is an undeniable factor that we pursue among our nearest people throughout our life. There have been innumerable friendships and relationships which are broken or devastated due to unfolded secrets. People basically find friends and in the most cases allow them to know their highly confidential secrets, which in turn, anticipate the other side to keep their mysteries by heart and not to reveal them in public or untrusted environments. These secrets range from a childhood plight or foreclosure or even relationships to family members. That is why those with wide range of friends have critical problems. They trust more people than what it seems as normal and often end up with their secrets revealed to others.

Equally important is the fact that by having not too many people in contact, we are more prone to know those specific people more and better. For example, one who has 3 friends, has a better idea of true characteristics of his/her friends in comparison to a person who contacts 20 or so people in regular basis. The number of acquaintances is an essential factor for us creating our explicit and favorite lifestyle.

Last but not least, there are some people who are afflicted with some radical negative or positive attributes. Having so many people not only can harm them but also may lead them to undergo some difficulties. In other words, one who possesses excessive views in religious aspect of life may find low quantity of people to be in touched with more helpful and more convincing. Reversely, If he/she be in closure to more relationship and more distinctive individuals with quiet different behaviors, it may trigger to insulting him/her because of his/her beliefs. Approaches of this kind for those specific people can make them more fragile and sensitive which may bring further conflicts.

In sum, I would definitely opt to have less yet with qualitative traits friends as to maintain a much happier life. Nonetheless, it seems isolating ourselves, I prefer to keep my secrets in a fewer yet confidential network.