Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my perspective, real friends are the magnificent treasures in humans’ lives, and they can be very influential in their lifestyles and their way of thinking about life. Indeed, it is indisputable that friends play a pivotal role in our lives. They can make our lives more beautiful and happier than it could exist in the past. So, for making real friends and having more happiness, we should have the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time rather than the ability to make many new friends easily. I would like to put forward some of the most significant reasons to illustrate my standpoint.

First and foremost, having a small number of people over a long period of time is much better since you rely on them much better than those friends who are new persons in your life. In other words, you can trust them easily since you have a broad recognition of them. For instance, you are familiar with your old friends` perspectives, interests, and activities. With having utter recognition, you can trust them in your special circumstances which are very helpful for your happiness. Because you know that you have real friends who can help you in your difficulties and understand you as well.

Moreover, having a small group of friends over a long time can be funnier than make many friends in a short time. Because you and your old friends have a lot of things in common. You can gather with each other and tell some funny memories which makes you happy. As an example, my friends and I initiated our friendship since childhood. We have a lot of funny moments with each other during these years. When we gather in a cafe or some other places, we always remind our beautiful memories and feel happiness from deep of our hearts.

Last but not least, having a long-lasting friendship makes you feel that you recognize your friends as a family member and progress with together. Indeed, you can extend your family by making new friends and you would not feel lonely in the future. Since you are in the same ages, you can be with each other even one of you do not want to marry in the future. You can make a family with each other in your rainy days and this leads you to be happy.

Having considered all the discussion above, I tend to claim that the ability to maintain a friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.