Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family is not as important now as before.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It has been suggested that we should keep in touch with the extended family as our grandparents did before however I personally think that it seems quite hard to have relationship with our relatives today as our parents did because, we live in such a globalized society and hectic life.

To begin with, these days, most people do not live with their family for educational or occupational purposes. Students have great opportunities to study abroad around the world if they want. Moreover, they are able to apply in foreign companies if they are willing to. Therefore, family members are difficult to gather in their daily lives so that it is much harder for relatives to meet even in monumental days like thanksgiving or Christmas. For instance, my elder sister went abroad when she was in an elementary school. She studied hard and got a prestigious job in Canada. After all, she has been working in Vancouver with her husband who is working together in the same company. My sister always wants to meet family but the airplane ticket is so expensive that she only can come to Korea for twice a year. In this reason, my sister feels uncomfortable if she should see relatives. She barely contacts relatives unless there are special occasions.

Secondly, people in this era experience the most hectic life style, compared with previous ones. It seems that family dinner is the most difficult thing. For example, both parents work every day and there are some days that they must go to work in weekends. Most teenagers should go to private institutes for extra studies to go to prestigious universities. In addition, university students are eager to experience as many things as possible by taking company internships, doing volunteer works, and getting part-time job to afford their tuitions. So, for these reasons, we spend less time together with our family and relatives, which means less involve in each other’s lives.

To sum up, it is so sad that we grew apart from our relatives, even our family. However, we should keep in mind that although it is inevitable phenomenon, we must try our best to keep in touch with our beloved family.