• Do you agree or disagree? It is better to relax by watching a movie or reading a book than doing physical exercise. Explain your answer with examples and specific reasons.

A glance at people’s attitude toward relaxation, brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, what is the best activity to become refresh. Although some people believe that reading a book or watching a movie can reduce the brain pressures and help person to feel relaxed, I think vice versa. As a medical student, after several years of research, I assert that physical activity is what the body needs to recover energy and feel refresh.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea, lies in the fact that physical exercise makes brain to produce Endorephine, a substance that causes feeling of happiness and enjoyment. This neurotransmitter is essential for body and its level is 100 times higher after physical activities. Normally psychologists recommend depressed people to register for a gym and regularly participate in sports activities. Not only does it help brain to restore energy, but also reduce the physical diseases. Therefore, sport is a good choice to consider if individuals feel bored.

Another reason that I should deem is the fact that we are required to go outside for most types of exercises. Going outside increases the amount of oxygen which brain needs. On the other hand, when people are alone at home, they think about their problems and stressful situations more. The solution is to change the way of thinking and give the brain cells some rest. A study at Harvard university shows that being part of a group or even walking outdoor strengthen the mental status because of concentration on enjoyable subjects. Hence, reading a book does not have benefits of physical activity.

Admittedly, watching a movie with friends or family has several advantages. The friendship bond creates important signal in brain and spirits the mood. Nevertheless, it is a short-term solution and for long-term it increases the risk of stroke. So, I still claim that physical activity controls the stress better.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I strongly suggest people to choose physical activities for relaxation because not only does it have physical benefits, but also it gives you mental advantages.