Do you agree or disagree? People nowadays are more willing to help other people ( giving food or clothing) than in the past?

Nature is full of changes and so is human society. During the past decades, more and more people are becoming enthusiastic in offering supports to those who are in difficulties through donation. In this article, I will illustrate the reasons behind this phenomenon from two aspects.

First, we should contribute the trend of this development to the prosperity of economy. In the old days, technology stayed at a low level and work efficiency was limited. Despite the hard work, the majority of people could only make a living for survival. As a result, giving money or materials to those who were in need was merely a dream. Thanks to the rapid development of science and technology, many countries, in particular the developing countries, have realized modernization in different fields, so that people’s living standard has been greatly raised. Driven by different purposes, more people choose to donate part of their belongs, such as money or possessions, to help others. For example, one of my father’s friends was a successful business person. After he retired, he rented an apartment which he changed into a small library for hundreds of children to use in his community. Seeing teenagers reading attentively in the library after class, he felt satisfied with a sense of achievement.

Moreover, the behavior of providing disadvantaged groups with unselfish support can be attributed to the spread of universal love. One of the results generated by globalization seems to be the melting and integration of values of people from different cultures. One of the popular concepts more and more people begin to accept seems to be the idea of universal love expressed in the Bible, which encourages a person to give help to others who are in need disregarding age, gender, color or ethnic background. According to their understanding, only by doing so could they get closer to God and live peacefully in Heaven after they die. One typical way to show universal love is by donating money, clothing or food. Not only religious people have this awareness of giving love to others, people without religious belief also recognize the importance of universal love because they claim that through advocating helping people in difficulties a mutual understanding of people and social stability can be reached, which happens to be the pursuit of most governments in the world.

Overall, based upon the analysis above, it can be concluded that it is not a coincidence to the quick increase of people who are willing to help others. Such rise is driven by both economic development and the spread of universal love.