Essay topics: TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task

Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Nowadays many parents struggle to allocate time for their progeny as a result there is a hot discussion about how to use this precious time better. The first idea is to spend time on playing games and engaging in sport activities with children. The second viewpoint is to devote the parents' time to activities which are associated with schoolwork. Although I understand the ideas behind the first point of view, I support the second one. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, it will motivate children to study harder. Children seek parents’ attention and love; this is a basic and natural need of any child. If a parent openly demonstrates interest to youngster’s studying, the child will study harder in order to get prized by a beloved father or a mother especially when parents cannot spend much time with the offspring. Of course, a child may attract grown-ups attention via misbehavior but in case parents explicitly showcase their interest in child's school success and good marks, the youngster will do whatever the parents buttress.

Secondly, helping children with their schoolwork may allow parents to save a considerable amount of money. Many students have trouble with their studying at some point of their lives. As a result, decent and responsible adults have to address the problem. Usually it means hiring a tutor or a teacher who will work with child's school problems. This is quite expensive practice and in some cases parents may spend thousands of dollars on educators. However, if a parent decides to help the child with studying, those expenditures on tutors may be avoided easily in particular at elementary school level.

Finally, doing things which are related to schoolwork is beneficial for parents as well and may have a positive impact on their mood as well. It is common wisdom that the majority of our good memories are connected with our childhood. A father who explains his son how to multiply and divide numbers may return to his school years when he was happy and innocent. Helping with child's homework will let the parents to forget for a while about their problems which are associated with their work, family life and aging. As a result, a parent will benefit from this activity as well.

To wrap up, participation to activities which are related to schoolwork has positive influence on children's motivation to study, allows parents to avoid unnecessary expenses and gives the parents an indispensable opportunity to return to their happy childhood.