A gift (such as a camera, a soccer ball, or an animal) can contribute to a child’s development. What gift would you give to help a child develop? Why? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice:-

Nowadays, there are various gifts that children would love to have like toys, electronics, and books. If I could choose a gift for a young age, I would make sure that it had to help with his/her development along with joy and pleasure. So I would certainly give a book as it has several benefits for kids. It would give a good source of knowledge, expand their imaginations and thinking skills and it would develop their language proficiency.

First, reading would teach the child about the world around him/her. Additionally, it’s a perfect source where he/ she would get to know about people, places, and topics out of his/her experience. For instance, I had got my eight-year-old daughter a storybook called Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls on her last birthday. It was a collection of a hundred stories about extraordinary women from all over the world. That book has taught my daughter about these great women, their countries' traditions. Now, my daughter knows about the Virgin Mary, Grace Kelly, Amelia Earhart and even more.

Secondly, books would increase young-aged imaginations and curiosity skills. The more they read, the more they would think and try to know further. For example, if that book was a fairy tale, the child would fly into an endless sky of imaginations about the fantasy characters and learn the difference between good and evil. Fairy tale-inspired gives children the ability to present the effects of their own creation to come up with new tales. When I was a child, I was always fascinated by the story of Cinderella and that had inspired me to invent similar stories in my diary notebook. When I look at those stories now I could see how I was having a creative brain. I was able to express my thoughts in a naive but great way.

Lastly, reading would boost their literacy power by providing a rich source of language and vocabulary. This would develop their writing also speaking with all the new words they had learned. For instance, my daughter has loved reading since she was a preschooler. Those books had taught her a lot of new words and how to use them in sentences. That has helped to improve her writing when she started school.