Grandparents have no use for their grandchildren because the world changed a lot during the past 50 years.

The elder, the fundamental part of population, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over the issue of whether grandparents are useful for their grandchildren because of dramatic change in the world during the past 50 years. Quite a few, if not a majority, believe that the elder are useless for children nowadays; on the contrary, I support that they are playing an important role for their grandchildren.

To begin with, it is grandparents who help to take care of grandchildren and save adult’s time. To be more specific, due to fierce competition in society, people between 30 to 45 are overwhelmed with their assignments in the company or from their supervisors, which allow them little time to nurture their babies. My cousin John is a perfect example to bolster my opinion. Because his parents’ special vocations, police and doctor, who were overwhelmed by a bunch of tasks and even work over time until deep night, he was sent to his grandparents and to be taken care by them so as to saving time for his parents. Only in the weekend would his parents take him back home. However, no matter how the world change, without assistance from grandparents, he would have stayed at home alone and cooked for himself, which was dangerous for a teenager and he will fell lonely without communication. Therefore, I support that grandparents are useful for their grandchildren.

Besides, never should we ignore the fact that it is grandparents who teach us to develop a healthy lifestyle. Because of plentiful life experience, they have developed a special way to keep them healthy and energetic. For example, my grandma was crazy about a traditional Chinese sport, Tai Chi, which benefits to build up a strong body and strengthen immune system. When I was a boy, I used to learn Tai Chi from my grandma and even now, I kept practice every day. Not only I can stretch my cramped muscle after sitting in front of computer in a long time, but it also helps me to clear my mind and get rid of the daily worries, which provides me a kind of meditation. However, without learning Tai Chi from my grandma, I may turn to other ways to relax like watching movies or playing video games, which will do a great harm to my eyesight and even make me feel exhausted afterwards. Thus, grandparents are useful for grandchildren on helping to form a healthy lifestyle.

Admittedly, grandparents may not provide us exact instruction in the study or jobs because of lacking professional knowledge. However, there some basic moral principles like how to deal with social relationship and how to shoulder responsibilities they can still offer of some suggestions.

To conclude, through the detailed analysis above, I am confident to maintain that grandparents have great use for their grandchildren even though the world changed dramatically in the past 50 years.