Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It happens when teachers or meeting leaders say something incorrect while addressing to the public. There are three main opinions people hold on how to deal with it after they notice the mistakes. Some of them will choose to correct the speaker on the spot; some prefer to say nothing; and some wait for the chance to talk to the speakers in private until everyone else is gone. If I were under such circumstance, I will resort to the last approach since it is the most appropriate one. In the following paragraphs I will present my reasons.

First and foremost, pointing out the speaker's mistake in a private situation avoid possible embarrassment. The teacher or meeting leader is considered authority to some extend in a classroom or a meeting, cut into his speech and wrong him will make him less trust-worthy and thus embarrass him. This is especially true for speakers who have a hard time tackling with opposite voice.

Moreover, this solution shows respect to other audiences. Not everyone will notice or pay much attention to mistakes in a speaking context. Particularly, if the incorrectness is minor, most of the audience might ignore it and focus on the important parts of the class or meeting. However, if someone interrupt and correct the speaker right away, the good flow of a lecture will be disrupted and valuable time wasted.

Admittedly, some might argue that the solution of say nothing could also avoid awkwardness and show respect. Nevertheless, correcting the mistake is necessary. Chances are that the speaker himself did not notice what he said was wrong and will continue to say so in other occasions. If so, this incorrect idea will spread wider and wider, which will not only mislead more listeners but also harm the reputation of the speaker in the long run. This necessitates the audience who are aware of the mistake to remind the speaker.

To put it in a nutshell, we should be particularly cautious when correcting mistakes of a speaker. After a careful and thorough analysis of pros and cons of the three methods, it is safe to conclude that waiting until the end of the class or meeting to point out the mistakes is the best one.