It is important to improve our skills and knowledge as much as possible. Some people prefer to learn from individuals who have more experience than they do – like teachers and supervisors – instead of learning from peers, like their colleagues and classmates. Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not?

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different sides, people must weigh the pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. After all, each and every question or topic requires careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Even though some may adamantly believe that the best way to learn something is through friends, I strongly disagree. When faced with a difficulty or I need advice, I would rather talk to someone who knows more than me and is well equipped to help me with my problem.

First and foremost, the majority of individuals would agree with the notion that in order to be successful in school, one has to constantly keep updating their knowledge and polishing their skills. The main reason behind the rationale is that the education system has changed over time and it no longer resembles its former self. Students are expected to be competent and perform well in academics and partake in various extracurricular activities. In order to excel in their respective subject, one should actively seek in-depth conceptual and practical knowledge about their topics. This ensures a complete and holistic understanding of the topics. Educators and teachers are well equipped with years of knowledge and hands-on experiences thus they can help students understand and learn new ideas and concepts. Educators are trained in order to educate, this enables them to get their point across in the best way possible. to be competent and perform well in academics and partake in various extracurricular activities. My personal life is a compelling example of this. As a student, I was particularly week in math. My roommate was an exceptional student and scored the most impressive marks. A week prior to the math test, I was nervous and had a meltdown because I was not able to understand the problems. My roommate offered her help and since she was a good student I assumed she would be a good teacher. I could not be more wrong. Since she was well versed with the subject, “obvious information” for her was alien information for me. Hence, I decided to approach my subject teacher and within a few hours, she was able to clear my queries and also share some tricks and ideas that were very helpful. On that day I understood that everyone can have knowledge but very few are capable of sharing it with others.

On top of that, the information provided by supervisors and teachers is without a doubt more authentic and accurate, in contrast to the one provided by fellow classmates. Since they are at the same level as me, they lack the insight that educators possess owing to their years of experience. For instance, when I graduated, I decided to start my own research. I was resilient and tenacious and that motivated me to complete my proposal. Before sending the proposal to the selection committee, I asked my classmates and friends to provide some valuable insight. They all thought that it was perfect and flawless. When I discussed the hypothesis with my lecturer, within the first few minutes of our discussions, he was able to point out some mistakes that was beyond my comprehension.

Likewise, I think a boss is experienced and better equipped in training and guiding people who work under him. Since he/she is a leader, he/she has the capabilities to train people under him.

In summation, yes, it is virtually impossible to provide a completely satisfying answer to an open-ended question. Although the jury maybe out on this give essay topic, we can mutually agree that learning from someone who is trained in order to teach and instruct is a better idea than learning from our peers and classmates.