It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Everything in our changeable lives is interconnected, and no one may predict what might /may/ be important tomorrow. In this regard, personally, I am prone to believe, that events occuring all over the world are important to know, even if those events do not affect our life directly. I hold this opinion since political and social changes in the world may /might/ eventually influence our life; and no one may become a professional in any sphere without being aware of the relevant foreign developments in this or that area.

To begin with, politics is quite an unpredictable thing with increasing dynamics of changes. One of the explanations of this is that the factors which determine political and social fluctuations in our societies are often unseen or extremely complicated to be properly analyzed. This in turn forces us to monitor changes in the world to be better equipped in case of their repetition in our country. For example, the movements for the rights of women have been developing for decades in western democracies whereas in states of post-soviet region this kind of movements have evolved recently. For that reason following this kind of events will help us to better understand the importance of such activities and to support the spread of its ideas. So, the more we learn about things, the better we are prepared for the challenges we face in our own lives.

Additionally, professionals in various spheres of science may benefit from following to the developments in the areas of their specialty. This is due to the fact that knowledge and experience do not recognize borders, and what is important in one place may become as much valued in another place. For instance, when in my country legal scholars started the process of drafting of our Constitution they used the experience of other democratic states inasmuch as it was relevant to our realities. Moreover, the scholars themselves were chosen by the state taking into consideration their knowledge of foreign practices, without which the national Constitution would /have/ not become reality. Consequently, professionals in any sphere of life have to be familiar with the relevant advances in their field of expertize.

To sum up briefly, in our era we should do our best to be aware of events that take place in other places and may impact our lives one day. The explanation of this is twofold: first, the political and social events tend to repeat throughout history; second, the more we know, the higher we are valued as professionals.