Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

A controversial concept usually laid out in most schools, universities and work spaces, is that should a certain task be completed independently or in a team. Although many people would rather work alone on a task as they believe they can complete it more productively and according to their own preference, I believe learning the ability to work effectively in a team is very crucial. As a matter of fact, I think a major point that differentiates developing countries from the advanced ones is the ability of the people in different levels of society, from high-ranking politicians to students in school, to communicate and work together on different tasks. Among all the vital benefits this ability has for a person and the society as a whole, I will shortly address a few points.

One of the simplest advantages of taking on a specific work as a team rather than independently, is time efficiency. It is quite evident that a group of well-managed people can complete a certain assignment in shorter time than one person alone. Thus, with an effective and professional team, more tasks and significant assignments can be completed in a certain amount of time, leading to higher productivity. This is especially crucial for an evolving businessman or employee.

As an old saying goes, two minds are always better than one. In a team, we have different points of view swirling about. These different viewpoints and opinions can enlighten different features of an assignment, come up with a variety of solutions for a specific problem at hand, and shed light on various ways of going about a task that may not be obvious to one person. So in a team, we can be familiarized with different viewpoints on a matter and come up with the best solution or routine to take on a certain task. Whereas, when working independently, one does not have the privilege of being acquainted with different takes on the problem and various solutions.

Another reason that underlines the necessity of teamwork, is specialization. With the various specialties today’s world brings and the deep knowledge each field requires, no one man can be familiar with more than one or at the most, two fields. In a team, we can gather people adept in different majors and employ different specialists to a task. This way, a certain matter will be handled with a high level of professionalism and clearly, a better result will be attained than when the task is enrolled by one person.

To conclude, although teamwork has its own complications, I believe it is very crucial to learn the ability to work effectively in a group of professional people. Teamwork, if handled properly, can ensure greater productivity, better time-management, higher professionalism and more sophisticated results for various solutions.