Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independently? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

It goes out saying that the ability to simultaneously perform as an individual and together with our colleagues or employees in effective teamwork is key to attaining growth and success. One of the heated debates in this realm is whether the teamwork is indispensable in today’s multidisciplinary world or to work lonely. Although there might be some different perspectives, it is my conviction that the momentous quality in a work environment is the ability to work with others in a team because it is a demand of a job market. I will support this view with arguments in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, working in a team contributes to the inspiration and ideas during each process in the forms of meetings and discussions. In other words, with individuals have diverse perspectives, the sitting and collective brainstorming with team members can be achieved much more extensive scope relative to working on a project alone. As a result, in an effective team environment, the proposed notion of suggesting creative and unique ideas can help in creating optimal solutions, and the whole process of their work becomes more efficient.

Moreover, individuals are not capable of covering complete aspects of a project by themselves, facing a lot of stressful situations. While it is undeniable fact that collaboration is less stressful when more than one person work on a project thanks to the burden of the work is divided among all team members and can be distributed according to their strengths. Therefore, each member experiences less stress for the sake of the fewer responsibility, and sharing responsibility in a group allows them to accomplish a project easily and with high quality. An example that can be cited to shed light on my own view is that during my master thesis preparation, I encountered a problem in fabricating my experimental setup. I could not regulate the rate of water flow inside the principal pipeline due to I was not familiar with some instruments. In addition, I must conduct an analytical analysis concurrently while I had no enough time to perform both of them, and it was conducive to I experienced stress at that time. Thus, I appealed to a Ph.D. student having rich experience to collaborate in my investigation. In this way, I felt less external pressure, performing both analytical and experimental investigations.

In conclusion, depending on different personality traits and working environment, some people have a preference to work in a team, while others prefer to work independently. Based on the aforementioned ideas, in order to complete a sophisticated task, individuals must work together, sharing a part of the whole task. Consequently, they try their best to give creative and better ideas to render an increase in productivity and performance.